Kent City Schools Hall of Fame


Established in 1999, the Hall of Fame recognizes graduates of Theodore Roosevelt High School and others who have made exceptional achievements in their field or unique contributions to the Kent community.

Inductees are selected in five categories:

  • Academic and Career Accomplishments Recognized as a respected leader in his or her profession who has demonstrated unique talents and/or career accomplishments and has helped improve the quality of life.

  • Science and Technology Career Accomplishments  Recognized as a respected leader in his or her profession who has demonstrated unique talents and accomplishments in the field of science and technology.

  • Athletic Accomplishments Recognized for outstanding athletic accomplishments while attending the Kent City Schools and/or at the college level, sandlot/semi pro or professional level.

  • Cultural/Performing Arts Recognized for achievements in the cultural, visual, performing arts and/or for contributions to the promotion of cultural activities on a local, state and/or national level.

  • Major Contributions to the Kent City Schools Recognized for promoting the Kent City Schools and, by example or by sustained contribution, serving as a major influence in the lives of Kent students.

  • Special Honorary Achievement Recognized for special contributions and service to the Kent City Schools and to the community, although not necessarily a graduate.

    Permanent plaques, commemorating each Hall of Fame member, are displayed in the Roosevelt auditorium atrium. Each plaque includes an artist’s sketch and biography.


To be eligible for nomination, at least 10 years must have passed between a nominee’s high school graduation and induction. Inductees must be graduates of Theodore Roosevelt High School, with the exception of “Special Honorary Achievement” category. Posthumous honors may be granted in any category.

Nominations will be accepted from the Hall of Fame committee members, as well as Kent residents, faculty, students and graduates.

Click here for the form to submit the nominee’s name and a brief summary of his or her accomplishments. Nominating forms should be mailed to:

Hall of Fame Committee
Attention: Superintendent Tom Larkin
Kent Board of Education
321 N. DePeyester Street
Kent, OH 44240

Please join us in congratulating the newest members of the Hall of Fame:

  • Roger Boykin, Sr. '64 (deceased) - Athletic Accomplishments

  • Ben and Candace '98 Curtis - Major Contributions to the Kent City Schools

  • Matthew Darrah '80 - Academic and Career Accomplishments

  • Hal '77 (deceased) and Lisa DuBois - Special Honorary Achievement 

  • Joe Dufek '79 - Athletic Accomplishments

  • Jeff Eckel '76 - Academic and Career Accomplishments

  • Dr. Eric Hintz '83 - Science and Technology Accomplishments

  • Dr. Christopher Moore '86 - Science and Technology Accomplishments

  • Patrick O'Connor '95 - Cultural and Performing Arts Accomplishments

  • Dr. Frederik Ohles '71 - Academic and Career Accomplishments

Click here for a bio of each inductee.

Future Events
A Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony is held every other year to recognize two classes of honorees.

The next Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is April 5, 2025