Week of September 30

Kindness Letters

Kindness letters were given this week to Suri Butler, Brenna Bettinger, Alohi Khan and Izzy Vitiello in Mrs. Weitzel’s 4th grade class for working so hard while there was a substitute in the room. In Ms. Louis’s class Za’Daynian Solomon for having great sportsmanship in P.E. class and helping and encouraging others. In Mrs. Weitzel’s class Brenna Bettinger for always being so polite to the safety patrol 5th graders and Aaron McKinney for helping a friend feel better in the lunchroom who had gotten hurt. Keep up with the kindness! 

Attendance Letters

I would like to remind all parents that attendance letters are mailed home after a child misses 30 hours of school and 60 hours of school without an excused reason.  The excused reasons include funerals, illness (must have a doctor’s note), medical or counseling appointments (letter from office must be sent to school), observance or celebration of a bona fide religious holiday or sent home from school for illness.  Please note that family vacations are considered an unexcused absence.  This is in accordance to House Bill 410 that was passed in December 2016.  

Student Snacks

I would like to clarify the classroom snack time.  Not every teacher offers a snack time during the school day.  If teachers do offer a time, there may be some days that they don’t get to the snack because of classroom activities or the student was busy completing work.  Students are responsible for bringing the snack from home. Not all students bring a snack.   If students select to bring in a snack we ask that the snack be a healthy choice and not candy.  

Upcoming Events

Wednesday, October 2 – Fall Picture Day
Monday, October 7 – HSA Meeting 6:00 pm
Wednesday, October 9 – Vision and Hearing Screening for Grades 1,3, and 5
Thursday, October 10 – Early Release for Students 1:00
Friday, October 11 – No School for Students
Tuesday, October 15 – October 17 – Holden Book Fair
Thursday, October 17 – 7:00-7:30 Presentation on Social Media and Gaming Overuse (Book Fair will be open from 6:30-7:00 and 7:30-8:00, the presentation will be from 7:00-7:30
Friday, October 18 –  5th Grade Bike Ride
Tuesday, October 22 – 23 – 3rd Grade State Reading Test
Thursday, October 24 –  Parent Teacher Conferences 5:00-8:00
Saturday, October 26 –  Ushering for Kent State Football
Tuesday, October 29 – 2nd Grade to visit Firehouse
Wednesday, October 30 – Thursday, October 31 – Fire Safety Assembly for Grades K,1,3 and 4
Friday, November 1 – Halloween Parade and Parties – 2:00 Start for parade
Friday, November 1 – Halloween Gala (Evening Event)